Medical Research Agency

https://abm.gov.pl/en/about-us/management/2,Radoslaw-Sierpinski-MD-PhD-President-of-the-Medical-Research-Agency.html 15.07.2025, 21:43

Prof. Wojciech Fendler, MD, PhD - President of the Medical Research Agency

Prof. Wojciech Fendler, MD, PhD (born 1982) is one of the outstanding young scientists in Poland.

Education:

He graduated from the Faculty of Medicine at the Medical University of Lodz (MUL) in 2007. He received his PhD in 2011 for his studies on proinsulin gene mutations in monogenic diabetes. He received his postdoctoral degree (habilitation) - for research on the epidemiology, pathogenesis and biomarkers of monogenic diabetes - in 2013. Subsequent studies focused on circulating miRNAs in radiation therapy and oncology. Projects conducted jointly with the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute resulted in the commercialization of an ovarian cancer diagnostic test and numerous patent applications. He received the title of professor of medicine in 2020. He authored several hundred scientific papers including numerous in renowned journals (Diabetes Care, Science Translational Medicine, Nature Communications, Cell Reports, Elife, Diabetologia, Cardiovascular Diabetology and Biomarker Research).

Professional career:

He has led, directs or supervises more than 20 projects funded by national and EU funds, including: OPUS NCN (3x), SONATA BIS, SONATA, PRELUDIUM (7x), Pearls of Science, FIRST TEAM FNP, INTER FNP, IMPULS FNP.

Since the beginning of his scientific career, he has strived to disseminate knowledge in the field of data analysis and has supported young scientists in mastering skills crucial for independent scientific work - especially in biostatistics and scientific integrity. Prof. Fendler won multiple prestigious competitions, such as the Polpharma Foundation Scholarship, Scholarship of the Ministry of Science and Higher Education, the START FNP (2x), the ISPAD-MEDTRONIC Young Scientist Award, the Polityka Scholarship, two Awards of the Minister of Health, "Poles with Verve" and the 2020 National Science Center Award in Life Sciences. As Deputy Director for Scientific Affairs, he co-founded the Clinical Research Support Center at the MUL and directed the Doctoral School of Molecular Medicine.